10-27-02 Acoustic - Shoreline, CA

Other Ones - Fall Tour 2002: 10-27-02 Acoustic - Shoreline, CA
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dakota Gunner (Gunner) (206.229.18.226) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 11:11 am: Edit Post

Truckin>Friend of the Devil>Cumberland, Box, Uncle Johns>The Wheel>Uncle Johns, G.D.T.R.F.B.,We Bid You Goodnight.

A really nice set, a little slow a first but by the time Cumberland was played all the pistons were firing. Bobby screwed up the ending of the Wheel also, Bobby the RockStar that he thinks he is tryed to steer the ship with no success.


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By scott (Magnetosphere) (66.73.173.172) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 12:09 pm: Edit Post

anybody know what sort of acoustic bass phil played?

did the drummers play hand drums, little percussion kits, or what?

as for bob being unable to steer, at least he can sing! phil may be the bassman, but he's the dad-in-the-shower-singing-man sometimes too. thankfully the ship steers itself either way.

i'm looking forward to the tour, catching chicago and hartford, hell yea!


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dakota Gunner (Gunner) (206.229.18.226) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 12:28 pm: Edit Post

Phil played a 4 string acoustic bass. Billy was on traditional drum set. Mickey was playing all kinds of hand drums with sticks with balls on the end. They rolled the drumz out on this big island with wheels Billy of course on left and Mickey in his usual spot. Jeff and Rob switched between a grand piano and a pipe organ all night. And as far as Bobby being the singer, Phils vocals sounded better all night. I had second row recorded it on my digital camera.


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dakota Gunner (Gunner) (206.229.18.226) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 12:32 pm: Edit Post

Also we were told not to make any plans for NEW YEARS because there will be something for us to do. Have a Jerry Christmas and a happy New Weir!


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bill Flesh (Franklins_Trane) (64.252.216.220) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 12:41 pm: Edit Post

how did Jimmy do with an accoustic? I've only ever heard him play non electric once...


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By iannai (Mule) (12.22.240.101) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 01:15 pm: Edit Post

Well, I started this under the "Non Phil & Friends" reviews section since technically...

Anyway, here's my weak post:

Surprised there's no review section for this yet...or am I missing it somewhere? I'm not very good at these but I'll try to get the ball rolling...

Overall a decent outing...Jimmy Herring left no doubt that he is a complete guitar shredder, his leads on Friend of the Devil and Cumberland were my highlights, you could tell the whole band was marvelling at Jimmy's peeling solos...Bobby forgeting the opening chords to Uncle John's (to a horrified look by Phil) would be another. The Wheel out of UJB was real nice, lot's of great piano playing by Rob. Sorta a strange slot they played...TOO came on before James Taylor and Neil Young's acoustic sets. Neil always closes the show so I figure he didn't want to follow TOO...who were the most rockin' set by far, but wanted to have Taylor as a nice mellow lead in. As a result it seemed like TOO set was only about 50 minutes long or so, I wouldn't hold your breath for any acoustic sets on the upcoming tour...it didn't seem like they really worked out anything special. I was hoping for some Reckoning type stuff, maybe Monkey and the Engineer or something.

And on a side note...what's with Bobby's look these days? He looks awful...unkept, scraggly grey beard...looks like he stopped using his chestnut Just For Men hair color...what's next, black t-shirts exclusively?

Looking forward to the December Kaiser shows...


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ned Wasserman (Darkstah) (192.18.128.12) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 01:16 pm: Edit Post

Jimmy was great. This was an extremely strong acoustic set from TOO. Truckin' was played intentionally at half time and had more impact than if they had played it at normal time. Box, Wheel, everything was just fantastic. I can't wait until Kaiser.


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By rostnata (Rosnata) (12.41.80.2) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 01:56 pm: Edit Post

There are a bunch of photos from TOO on setlist.com. Check 'em out. Looks like Phil's playing the new Jack Cassidy model Epiphone bass, which I imagine sounded quite different then the guitar he usually uses: (I've never posted a pic here, so you'll have to excuse me if it doesn't work!) philbridgeschool


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By rostnata (Rosnata) (12.41.80.2) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 01:58 pm: Edit Post

yeah! it worked!!


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dakota Gunner (Gunner) (206.229.18.226) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 02:14 pm: Edit Post

hey rostnata how do you post a pic?


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By rostnata (Rosnata) (12.41.80.2) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 02:20 pm: Edit Post

Go to the link right to your left, under Info: 'Formatting' it tells you how to do it.


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By greg (Gregschmegg) (216.86.41.208) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 02:24 pm: Edit Post

.


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By greg (Gregschmegg) (216.86.41.208) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 02:25 pm: Edit Post

"Looks like Phil's playing the new Jack Cassidy model Epiphone bass, "

-yeah, that is jacks bass. Has phil ever played one of those before. I read in an interview somewhere phil considers Jack Cassidy as the greatest bass player ever. If i can remember where the hell ive read that, ill post a link.


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Georgie1 (Georgie1) (165.247.201.169) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 03:08 pm: Edit Post

Hey folks, checking in with a few words on the shows...A great Bridge overall, as always. It's one of the best events of the year and The Youngs did a fabulous job again. Over the course of the two shows I saw just about everybody, except the opening act Vanessa Carlton, because when trying to schelp a huge crew from Stinson & San Rafael, things happen. And that's with the World Series going on. The first night it was shown on every monitor, but was scaled back Sunday to just the terrace bar, because apparently it got a little noisy. When Livan got bombed early Sunday, people started focusing back on the music.

This year was heavy on the singer/songwriter thing; most artists just played solo acoustic or with light accompaniment. I enjoyed a lot of it. Neil & James were of course amazing. Neil was "on," and James, well, I'll always have a soft spot for "from Stockbridge to Boston, the Berkshires were glistening" and all that stuff. Neil joined him for Heart of Gold each night. The Foo Fighters and Tenacious D were painful and I don't get Ryan Adams, but Jack Johnson was pleasant and Thom Yorke did his brooding thing with passion, including a showstopper After The Gold Rush the first night.

But really nobody should be criticized for donating their time to such a worthy cause.

THE OTHER ONES

Phil - Styling in leather jacket and jeans, lots of hairspray. Shook hands with each and everyone of the kids after their set. Checked out "Carolina In My Mind" with his wife backstage. Hit some bombs during UJB and elsewhere that got loud.
Bobby - T-shirt and shorts. White beard and gray hair flying around. In fine form. Took a couple of guitar solos but mostly restrained. Carried the singing well.
Mickey - Omnipresent. Friendly to everyone. Hanging and signing autographs for the kids before the show, playing to them during it. Even smiled at my There and Back Again tee. Was great on various percussion instruments.
Jimmy - Sitting stage right with his ax. He can play acoustic too, as mentioned. Would you expect anything else?
Billy - Didn't see too much if him but he anchored the rhythm section.
Rob & Jeff - Alternating between baby grand and pipe organ.

Very full sound and well-mixed. Lots of keys but I can get used to it. Nice to hear a whole band after all the singer/songwriters.

Truckin: SUPER slow. Completely different actually. Gave off the vibe that, hey, we're a little older, a little slower, but we can still play.
FOTD: P&F arrangement. Mostly Bobby vocals. Mickey center stage with "apple box." Jeff took a nice solo on piano.
Cumberland: Rob back on keys. Tight and hot.
Box: Phil nailed the singing, Mickey on bongos. Jeff: organ. Rob took the solo.
UJB: Slow intro. Again, Rob played the first lead during the first break, then Jimmy busted loose. Jimmy also led them out of it with strong and fiery playing. Just great, even acoustically.
Wheel: Brand new ending vocal jam. Upbeat chanting, sort of like Good Lovin'. Very interesting.
GDTRFB: Rob sang a verse. Another fine version.
We Bid You Goodnight: Stunning. Bobby singing his heart out and great harmonies.

Big finale: Comes A Time (Neil's) with just about everybody on stage. No Phil or Bill, I don't think, but everyone else. Bobby and Mickey flanking Neil & JT.

The Bridge can best be symbolized by a line from one of Neil songs that he played both nights on organ. Don't know the name of it but it goes something like, "show each other some love and affection and make the world a better place, with or without you."


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By jeff (Jellyroll) (64.65.128.46) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 04:09 pm: Edit Post

thanks for the review georgie!


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By James Woodruff (Jumpturn) (67.234.185.39) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 05:12 pm: Edit Post

Right on. I couldn't make it out. Had to eat the tickets, but oh well--I'm glad the funds went to a good cause.

Get ready for Jimmy Herring-- as the lead ax for TOO, he is going to roll y'all up and SMOKE you!!


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Matthew Aberbach (Mattya) (4.20.97.20) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 06:13 pm: Edit Post

From my perspective, last night was great. Clearly, the boys had rehearsed for this and put together a set-list that would be recognized from the thousands who only know "Best of" albums. I disagree with the posting stating Bobby had fouled up the ending to the Wheel. They re-worked the Wheel prior to last years NYE show and they've really worked to make it a smoother jam. I went with some old tour friends who are terrible whiners (like many who post here)about how it's all over since Jerry, nothing will ever be the same.....well, they've all signed up for Kaiser after last night.

I really enjoyed the short but sweet set and I'm now looking forward to December....


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Whitman Mayo (Grady) (195.98.97.101) on Tuesday, October 29, 2002 - 01:58 pm: Edit Post

Georgie,

Glad you enjoyed the Bridge School and nice to hear it was the great event it usually is. I was worried because on another thread, a guy named Tom hated it. he hated it so much he prefered playing with children in garbage over watching the show.


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Clancy Whigham (Tweeker) (138.202.36.70) on Tuesday, October 29, 2002 - 03:40 pm: Edit Post

Overall, they performed quite well. Jimmy lit into Cumby's and nailed the end of GDTRFB. I was then treated to James Taylor for the first time, he just looks like New Englander...then Neil, which I was stoked for, sounded great, but I thought he had about 5-7 more tunes in him before the finale, I dont know if he played a half hour...one note about the encore, everyone was on stage, when Neil broke into the solo part and started his grunge/headbanging he went right for bobby, bob laughed but Neil just kept rockin...People were really bummed out the giants lost, I saw some people cryin', but since I'm a red sox fan i really didn't give a shit...

Next up Kaiser


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Admin (Admin) (64.19.184.38) on Tuesday, November 19, 2002 - 01:55 pm: Edit Post

By tom heckley (Hecklto) (67.120.87.216) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 02:25 pm: Edit

I was so bored during the show that I ended up going bowling with a bunch of three year olds on the top of the lawn. We set up empty plastic beer cups and had a mini disco ball, and proceeded to have a tournament. I lost of course.

It was a beautiful evening full of wonderful adventures, but the music wasn't one of them. IMHO

Except for Jack Black and Tenacious D

Neil Young irritates me more and more every time. At least this time I think I irritated him back. I was right down front for his set (because everybody already left) and was making a spectacle while everyone else was sitting down. He glared at me, and tried to intimidate me during "Needle and the Damage Done" but I just went off into my own world to dance. All in all, it was kinda funny. I do feel my presence affected him, and maybe the kids on stage too.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By iannai (Mule) (12.22.240.101) on Monday, October 28, 2002 - 03:01 pm: Edit

Tom,

I walked right past that bowling game last night...wished I had known that was you, I would have seen if you'd be up for some Habernero bumps...


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By tom heckley (Hecklto) (67.120.87.216) on Tuesday, October 29, 2002 - 01:19 am: Edit

Not in front of the kids


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By Brian Sullivan (Sully72) (206.158.3.10) on Tuesday, October 29, 2002 - 10:59 am: Edit

Can we get more details on this? What kind of drums were Billy and Mickey using? Uptempo FOTD? What were Rob/Jeff playing, only pianos? How did that Box sound acoustic?
Any tapes available?
Inquiring minds wants to know - well, at least I do!


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By Super Hero (Tripfontaine) (206.35.147.89) on Thursday, October 31, 2002 - 03:36 pm: Edit

October 27, 2002
Shoreline Amphitheatre, Mountain View, CA

The Other Ones

(acoustic set for Neil Young's Bridge School Benefit)

Truckin>
Friend of the Devil>
Cumberland Blues>
Box of Rain>
Uncle Johnís Band>
The Wheel>
Uncle Johnís Band>
Goiní Down The Road Feeliní Bad

And We Bid You Goodnight


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By Super Hero (Tripfontaine) (206.35.147.89) on Thursday, October 31, 2002 - 03:46 pm: Edit

I liked the set. Everyone in the whole place (Dead Heads and regualar people) was dancing. I was very close and pretty drunk by the time the Band came on. I thought the music was very well played (and Jimmy is amazing on guitar), but nothing really jumped out at me like it did in Alpine in August....but I really think it was because it was acoustic (and I was so drunk). I am certain that when they are on tour and at Henry J in December (electric) they will be on fire. The electonic wizardry of these guys really lends itself to the music that they play. I love a sweet, simple acoustic set by this band, but the Electric Beast can really get that battle goin' if you know what I'm sayin'. It really tells the tale.


Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Andy Dodd (Funkynuggy) (64.169.14.16) on Wednesday, December 11, 2002 - 04:02 pm: Edit Post

i saw this show. it was my first dead, p&f or, too. I loved the boys but the rest of the show was a joke for my cloudy head. Signed up for the kaiser though and loved that on a whole different level of electrical goodness.


Thank You for all the joy from your music.


Add a Message


This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Username:  
Password: